2017 Winner of the Hagley Book Prize

Friday, September 8, 2017

Hagley Museum and Library and the Business History Conference are pleased to announce the 2017 winner of the Hagley Prize: Destructive Creation: American Business and the Winning of World War II (University of Pennsylvania, 2016) by Mark R. Wilson, University of North Carolina, Charlotte. Hagley Museum and Library and the Business History Conference jointly offer the Hagley Prize awarded to the best book in Business History (broadly defined) and consists of a medallion and $2,500.

The book "Destructive Creation" in front of library catalog drawers at Hagley Library.

The prize committee encourages the submission of books from all methodological perspectives. It is particularly interested in innovation studies that have the potential to expand the boundaries of the discipline. Scholars, publishers, and other interested parties may submit nominations. Eligible books can have either an American or an international focus. They must be written in English and be published during the two years (2016 or 2017 copyright) prior to the award. 

Four copies of a book must accompany a nomination and be submitted to the prize coordinator:

Carol Ressler Lockman
Hagley Museum and Library
P.O. Box 3630
298 Buck Road
Wilmington, DE 19807-0630

The deadline for nominations is November 30, 2017. The 2018 Hagley Prize will be presented at the annual meeting of the Business History Conference in Baltimore, Maryland, April 7, 2018. You can find more information here.